CopyErrorSmallRecently while installing a network printer I encountered a copy error when the install process tried to copy the printer drivers from a network share.

Error Dialogue Box I was using a script that executes RUNDLL32 PRINTUI.DLL,PrintUIEntry to perform the install. The location was correct. All permissions were set properly. Eventually I happened upon the following line in the setupapi.log file.

#-175 SPFILENOTIFY_COPYERROR: Source = “\\MyNetworkShare\hp_cp3525x\hp color laserje\drivers\i386(32 bit – 2000_xp_s2003_vista)\pcl6\hpcp3525.CF_”, Target = “C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\hewlett_packardhp_cof94c\hpcp3525.CFG”, Flags = 0x00000000, Error = 0x0000001e.

A web search led me to a Microsoft KB article that talked about the same problem when installing drivers in a Windows Server 2008 cluster environment. In the KB article, the problem was that the length of the file path exceeded 128 characters.

I checked the length of my file path and it exceeded 128 characters. I changed the path so that the length was exactly 127 characters. The install worked.

This scenario was consistent on Windows XP (32-bit) machines but not on Win 7 64-bit machines. Interestingly, I have performed numerous installs previously with no problem. Perhaps some Windows update was involved? I don’t know. If you have some insight into this issue, please share in the comments below.

So if you receive a copy error when doing an install, check your file path length. That just might be the problem.